Recycling cassettes and CDs

Technology changes so fast that I’ve saved documents to hard disks, CDs, thumb drives and now the Cloud. Who knows what’ll be next by the time this blog goes live!

 

It is fantastic that we have more and more paper-free ways to keep our information, but there’s a down side to earlier technology becoming obsolete. I keep finding unwanted old VHS tapes, cassettes and even floppy disks when working with clients – and let’s not even talk about those free AOL CDs that used to come in the mail.

 

One of the things I love about my job is sharing convenient, earth-friendly resources with clients who also want to make a difference. But when I first started my organizing business, I had trouble finding local places that’d be willing to recycle these information-storage items, or dispose of them properly, aside from municipal garbage dumps.

 

It pained me to throw them out, knowing they’d be going to the landfill and could affect our environment. But my clients didn’t just need these unwanted items disposed of. They also needed to be sure that any sensitive information on them was destroyed, or at least kept out of the hands of potential scammers.

 

I recently came across a stash of floppy disks while working with a client who was downsizing to a smaller home. A fellow professional organizer recommended CD Recycling Center.org, a company that recycles technology-related items, wires, phones, CDs and more. But my client no longer had the hard drive to check out the floppy disks for personal information. She had to treat them all as if they held potentially sensitive data. So before I took them to the recycler she asked, how will they be destroyed?

 

It was a valid question. A while ago, I wrote a blog a about using Best Buy as a recycling place for old unwanted technology items. Another client informed me that Best Buy shipped the broken and unwanted technology to third-world countries, which is often not the best way to go both environmentally and security-wise.

 

Fortunately, CD Recycling Center.org does physically destroy floppy disks, CDs, and external hard drives. For disks, part of their process includes breaking them into tiny plastic pellets. Because the organization cannot absolutely guarantee that it’s storage bins are 100% secure, though, it still advises consumers to physically damage their date-storage recyclables before drop-off. See here for a wonderful Q&A page explaining how to keep your data safe, how it all works, their process method and all.

 

CD Recycling Center.org headquarters is based in Salem, NH, but it has partnerships with agencies in other parts of the USA. Check here to find one by you or that accepts items by mail. All products stay in the USA. To learn more about other resources on recycling technology, see my previous blog, including ideas from readers in the comments.

 

Even though I have had good experiences with this organization, when it comes to keeping your data safe and upholding your personal value, it’s always a good idea to ask your own questions to make sure this company and others that I’ve mentioned in my blog satisfy your conscience and standards for good practices.

 

Thank you to fellow colleague and professional organizer, Sandy R., for this resource.

Leave a comment